old lessons new meanings

Last week I was in Perth, Western Australia and some surprising things happened:

  1. I started this blog!
  2. I’m yet to tell my wife I started this blog! Sorry G when I’m ready…
  3. I was blind sided

A few people who read this will know me and they will know my life is very different now compared to 15 -20 years ago. The person I am now was shaped by the person I was then, but that does not mean I am still that person. I once heard that every cell in your body is replaced every seven years. You, me, and everyone you’ll ever meet is physically a new person compared to seven years ago; so why would you judge a person on there history.

I did a lot of things that I would not change if I had my life again, because they shaped who I am today and I’m comfortable with who I am. Many of these things may be frowned upon by the general populous but they shaped me to be who I am.

What and who I am now is what matters, yeah?

I often apply this lesson to myself when I lack the confidence to do what I’m good at, and those things that I’m not so good at. In the last seven days I have applied this lesson to a colleague who blind sided me. I’m really glad I understood the full meaning of it.

Judge what is presented in front of you now, not what history tells you happened.

Leopards don’t change their spots; we are not Leopards!

Leave a comment